Erasmus+ scholarships are available to students from all countries.

Many other local, national, and international scholarships and grants are available for studying abroad, which provide an alternate funding path for this course. Consult your local/national grant authorities for information (for example, see A small number of incoming student grants are available in Ireland, France and the UK (consult the postgraduate studies/grants pages of the university websites). European and some other students may be eligible for free fees (consult the higher education web sites for further information).

Erasmus+ scholarships are funded by the EU under the Erasmus+/EMJMD programme, and cover the full participation costs for successful applicants (fees, etc.), and also provide a contribution to your travel costs as follows:

  • The maximum total scholarship grant is 49 000 EUR per applicant
  • 1 000 EUR per year per scholarship holder resident in a Programme Country for travel costs
  • 2 000 EUR per year for travel costs + 1 000 EUR for installation costs for scholarship holder resident in a Partner Country whose location is situated at less than 4.000 km from the EMJMD coordinating HEI (Maynooth University)
  • 3 000 EUR per year for travel costs + 1 000 EUR for installation costs for scholarship holder resident in a Partner Country whose location is situated at 4.000 km or more from the EMJMD coordinating HEI (Maynooth University)
  • 1 000 per month for 24 months as a contribution towards subsistence costs.
  • 9000 EUR per year for fees for Partner Country students and 4500 EUR per year for Programme Country students

Programme and Partner Countries

  • Erasmus+ Programme Countries are as follows (as of 25/11/2013) :


    Member States of the European Union (EU)1



    Czech Republic

























    United Kingdom


    Non EU Programme Countries

    former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia





  • Erasmus+ Partner Countries are most other countries in the world
  • See for details


  • Students whose citizenship is one of the Erasmus+ Partner Countries count as Partner Country students.
  • Partner Country students who are not residents nor have carried out their main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in any Programme Country are considered as Partner Country students
  • The five-year reference period for this 12-months rule is calculated backwards as from the submission deadline (defined by the consortia) of applying for an EMJMD student scholarship.
  • Students whose citizenship is one of the Erasmus+ Programme Countries count as Programme Country students. Students with a Partner Country citizenship who do not fulfil the Partner Country criteria defined above (12-months rule) count as Programme Country students.
  • Students with a double nationality (of a Partner and of a Programme Country) must specify the nationality under which they submit their scholarship application.
  • Proof of country of residency is required in calculating the grant. Each applicants place of residence will normally be verified based on the basis of the provision of the documents listed in the EU PRADO website:
    • A residence certificate issued in accordance with the candidate's municipality normal registration rules (normally under category H on the PRADO website);
    • If your country of residence has no residency documents listed on the PRADO website, then a certificate from the candidate's place of work, study or training issued by the employer or institution in question;
    • The following are not adequate proof of residence: passport, driving license.
  • Both documents must have been issued within 12 months before the submission deadline of applying for an EMJMD student scholarship, i.e. the consortium's official deadline for student application.

Eligibility for Scholarship Grant

  • Only candidates who have been accepted for a place on this course are eligible for a scholarship.
  • EMJMD student scholarships cover the entire 2-year duration of the Master course and are awarded exclusively for a full-time enrolment. Scholarship candidates must have already obtained a first higher education degree or demonstrate a recognised equivalent level of learning according to national rules and legislation in place.
  • Students who have already obtained an EMJMD scholarship or are former EMMC (Erasmus Mundus – Action 1) or Erasmus Mundus Master/Doctoral scholarship holders are not eligible for an additional scholarship under the EMJMD action. Students benefiting from an EMJMD scholarship cannot benefit from another EU grant while pursuing their EMJMD studies.
  • Candidates who will only obtain their first higher education degree at the end of the academic year preceding the EMJMD student intake concerned by the EMJMD scholarship can nevertheless apply for a scholarship and can be selected by the consortium, under the condition that the student obtains the required degree prior to the beginning of the Master course intake concerned.
  • Click here for full eligibility details.


The DEPEND Progamme has a total of 59 scholarships to offer over the next 3 years of the programme (entry September 2018-September 2020). The heading 1 scholarships are limited to a maximum of 3 per country per year. The ENI and DCI scholarships are additional.

  • 52 Heading 1 Scholarships for Partner Country applicants
  • 1 Heading 1 Scholarship for Programme Country applicants
  • 2 ENI East scholarships (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law)
  • 2 ENI South scholarships (Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia)
  • 1 DCI scholarship (Asia - DPR Korea, Indonesia, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Pakistan, Philipines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam)
  • 1 DCI scholarship (Latin America - Brazil and Mexico)

See for details  for details of the regions as defined for the Erasmus+ Programme.


EC co-funded